The Narrow State

by Rumour Cubes

supported by
  • Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

     name your price


  • The Narrow State - Limited Edition Compact Disc
    Compact Disc (CD)

    Beautifully packaged CD of debut album 'The Narrow State' featuring artwork by Lauren Mortimer and poetry by Steve Willey.

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Narrow State via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out



released February 27, 2012

All music written and played by Rumour Cubes.
Tracks 1-5 also written by Siew Cottis.

Joe Bartlett: bass, electronics
Hannah Morgan: violin
Terry Murphy: viola, glockenspiel
Omar Rahwangi: drums, percussion
Adam Stark: guitar, electronics
Simon Stark: guitar, electronics

Poem 'The Gove Curve' written and recited by Steve Willey.

Endless Gratitude to all our families and friends, especially Siew and Steve.

Recorded, mixed and mastered at Café Music Studios, London, throughout the fleeing seasons of 2011.
Produced, recorded, mixed and mastered by Mark Sutherland and Cherif Hashizume.
Additional mixing by Adam Stark.
Additional recording by James Whyard and Pete Diggins.
Noise on 'At Sea' borrowed from Chloe Lynch and granularised by Rumour Cubes.
Additional programming on 'Triptych' by Cherif Hashizume.

© 2012 Rumour Cubes

Illustrations by Lauren Mortimer.
Collage by Steve Willey.



all rights reserved


feeds for this album, this artist


Rumour Cubes London, UK

Rumour Cubes are a London-based 6-piece creating experimental, atmospheric instrumental music.

Working with poets and film makers and writing custom
music software to sync videos to their live performances, the band construct a multimedia experience where dense ambient textures and rhythms underlie beautiful melodies highlighted by violin and viola.
... more

contact / help

Contact Rumour Cubes

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code